The Waqf Act 1954 came into force in the State of Tamil Nadu on 15.1.1955 and the Survey of Waqf and the properties of the Waqfs were completed in the year 1957. The first Board was constituted on 18.1.1958. After the implementation of the Waqf Act 1995 (Central Act 43 of 1995) the Government of Tamil Nadu reconstituted the Waqf Board in the year 1997, 2002 and 2007 with 13 Members.

The previous 11 members Board was reconstituted by Government in G.O.(2D) No.23, BC,MBC & MW (T1) Dept dt.14.09.2017 and G.O.(2D) No.24, BC,MBC & MW (T1) Dept dt.10.10.2017.

Presently the Government in G.O.Rt No 1861, Public Special (A) Departnment dated 04.07.2020  has appointed  DR.D.FARITHA BANU,B.S.M.S., B.G.L., as Full time Chief Executive Officer of the Tamil Nadu Waqf Board. She assumed charge as Chief Executive Officer on 09.07.2020.

Scroll to Top